The Greater Raleigh Chapter  and the Greater Charlotte Chapter of the
National Association of Women Business Owners 


Video courtesy of Reify Media

On June 14th  the NAWBO Raleigh Chapter and Charlotte Chapter joined to create the 1st annual North Carolina Women Business Owners Hall of Fame. This historic event honored the inaugural Hall of Fame inductees. While over 50 women were nominated, only 11 women were selected for the 2018 class.  This inaugural class represents the best of North Carolina: hard work, care for the community, and a drive to dream big.

Honorees included:
(click honoree name for video of the award recipient, courtesy of Reify Media)

Leah Brown, founder of A10 Clinical Solutions and co-founder of Diversity Alliance for Science; named by Fortune Magazine in Top 10 Most Powerful Women Entrepreneurs 2010

Mary Cantando, founder of PDR Information Services, e-Publishing Corporation, and The Woman’s Advantage®. Founder of the Women Presidents’ Organization chapters in Raleigh, Charlotte, and Greensboro. Women in Business Award from Triangle Business Journal.

Mildred Council, (Awarded Posthumously) better known as “Mama Dip,” and founder of Mama Dip’s restaurant; received Order of the Long Leaf Pine honor in 2010.

Linda Craft, CEO of Craft Residential and Craft Commercial, and the founder of Linda Craft & Team Realtors; received White House's President’s Volunteer Service Award in 2018.

Dale Halton, former CEO of Pepsi-Cola Bottling Co. of Charlotte; named Queens University Charlotte BusinessWoman of the Year in 1988.

Janice Bryant Howroyd, founder, and CEO of The ActOne Group; was the first African- American woman to create and run a billion-dollar business; named fourth on CNBC list of 14 black women who changed business and finance.

Elizabeth Nisbet Miller, an inspector for The National Women Business Owners’ Corporation and leader of NAWBO Charlotte in its inaugural 1999 year; SBA NC Women's Business Advocate in 2015.

Shelia Ogle, founder of Media Research Planning and Placement Inc., former CEO of The Matthews House, and founding partner of Integrated Clinical Trial Services; NC Delegate at the White House Conference on Small Business and SBA NC Small Business Person of the Year.

Sara Garces Roselli, co-founder of Packard Place; representative on the City of Charlotte’s Minority and Women Business Owners Council.

Gloria Shealey, President and CEO of The Daniele Company; first and only women President of the National Association of Minority Contractors (2012 - 2015) in its 49-year history.

Advocacy Award - Honorable Elaine Marshall, North Carolina Secretary of State; first woman elected to statewide executive office in 1996, named Meredith College’s 2017 Woman of Achievement Award.

The selection committee included Marise Kumar, the NAWBO-Charlotte 2018-2019 President; Johnny Bass with NFIB and Bass Business Solutions; Elizabeth Cantino, with WBON Cary and First Citizens Bank; Joe Magno with NC COIN; Patrick Rodriguez with the Small Business Administration; Cameron Calderwood with Bank of America; and Briles Johnson with the Women’s Business Center.